Go Orienteering

All the orienteering opportunities in the area, including competitive Events and Virtual and courses that are available anytime.

HAVOC events

Date Event name (select to view) Near Level/Type
Sun 11 Sep HAVOC EAL & SWELL Event - Langdon Hill Basildon Regional
Sun 6 Nov HAVOC SWELL Event - Belhus Woods South Ockendon Local
Explanation of Event levels

Major events are Major Events such as a British Championships, National events are high quality competitions that will attract people from far away, Regional events attract participants from around the local Region, Local are usually low key events in a 'localised' area. Local events are ideal for newcomers to try the sport and Activities are non competitive events used for training and coaching. Aimed at members of the host club, but they can attract people from neighbouring clubs. Often ideal for newcomers to try the sport.

Club & Regional league info

For the latest country-wide fixtures list see the British Orienteering website

Forthcoming fixtures can also be viewed via Ollie O'Brien's UK Orienteering Fixtures Map (here centred on CM14, Brentwood).


Virtual Orienteering

Use the GPS in your smartphone (or watch) to take part in “Virtual” orienteering at a time convenient for yourself. With the MapRun app you can run a course using either the map on your phone screen or a paper version, and your phone will beep when you reach the correct location of each... 

Read more about MapRun Courses…


Neighbouring clubs events

Chigwell & Epping Forest Orienteering Club (CHIG) website

Dartford Orienteering Klubb (DFOK) website

Essex Stragglers Orienteering Society (SOS) website

Links below will open the event details on the British Orienteering website in a new tab or window. The data is a live feed from that website.

Date Event name (select to view) Near Club Type
Mon 29 Aug Find Your Way Beacon Wood - Beacon Wood Country Park Dartford DFOK Activity
Sun 18 Sep SOS Hatfield Forest - Hatfield Forest Bishops Stortford SOS Regional
Sat 8 Oct DFOK Kent Orienteering League - Jeskyns Community Woodland tbc DFOK Local
Sun 9 Oct CHIG Local and SWELL event - Walthamstow Forest. Woodford Green CHIG Local
Fri 28 Oct Find Your Way Gravesham - Jeskyns Community Woodland Gravesend DFOK Activity
Sun 30 Oct SOS Hylands Park - Hylands Park Chelmsford SOS Regional
Sat 3 Dec DFOK Kent Orienteering League - Cobham Great Wood tbc DFOK Local
Sun 4 Dec CHIG SE League event - Epping E Loughton CHIG National
Sun 1 Jan New Year Novelty - Highwoods CP Colchester SOS Local
Sat 14 Jan DFOK Kent Orienteering League - Lullingstaone tbc DFOK Local
Sun 22 Jan DFOK SEL Event - Westerham Westerham DFOK National
Sun 12 Feb CHIG Regional and SWELL event - Wormley Woods. Broxbourne CHIG Local
Sat 4 Mar DFOK Kent Orienteering League - Buckmore Park tbc DFOK Local
Sun 19 Mar SOS Danbury Common - Danbury SOS Regional
Sat 29 Apr DFOK Kent Orienteering League - Shoreham Woods tbc DFOK Local
Sun 21 May Harwich Urban - Harwich SOS National
Sun 18 Jun SOS Hatfield Forest - Hatfield Forest Takeley, Bishops Stortford SOS Regional